RSS

2 Year Loc Anniversary

12 Oct

On October 12, 2011 I was sitting in Veronica’s shop thinking about the decision I had made to start locking my hair. I wanted something different from my natural afro and before that something other than the bald helmet that I wore for many years. I wanted dreadlocks. I wanted something that was unique to my personality, something lively and bold. Veronica was my portal into the world. Every since then I embraced my dreadlocks and the lifestyle. I have loved them everyday. Wearing dreadlocks has made me more conscious of my differences from those without them. It has heightened my awareness what perception means. Also being in the dreadlock community has allowed me the perfect opportunity to look within myself and understand me better. It has been a journey of self awareness thus far. I am excited to see what other attributes arise from the strands of my locks.

Happy 2 year Anniversary!

Natrodisiac

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2013 in dreadlocks

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “2 Year Loc Anniversary

  1. theskunkalex

    October 28, 2013 at 9:30 am

    I’m 16 years old and I was thinking of getting dreadlocks but the only problem is that my family and friends think it’s a bad idea. Should I get them anyways despite what others think or just stick to my regular hair? I’m pretty unhappy with my regular hair and I think that dreadlocks represent my personality just like yours do.

     
    • Natrodisiac

      October 28, 2013 at 8:31 pm

      Being that you’re 16 and I am 40 my decisions are calculated a little differently than yours. I wanted dreads 15 years prior but because I was in the military I couldn’t start my journey because of military regulations. When I got out I had a few professional grade jobs where I wore a bald do for the duration. Currently I am in a job where I am required to wear a tie everyday, which I hate. Consequently I decided to start my journey while employed here and now. My bosses have not said one word about my decision. Also I should add that I am promotable. So your family probably would like you to experience life before you embark on your dreadlock journey. It’s my guess. Take their advice and if the desire is real and the idea is no longer an infatuation take a turn for the best.

      Natrodisac

       
      • theskunkalex

        October 28, 2013 at 8:33 pm

        Alrighty, thank you!

         
  2. Natrodisiac

    October 28, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    you’re welcome.

     

Leave a Reply

 
