RSS

It’s the One Thing I Don’t Like…

10 Aug

When I became interested in locking my hair there was one part of the process that I did not consider and after two years I still have not come to complete peace with it. That’s the part where you have to clamp your hair down after each lock has been palm rolled. ‘The clamp’ just comes off as feminine. Ok, there I said it! I wished that there was another way to achieve the same effect and look without the clamps.

Now my masculinity can take it. Though my inner thoughts are always trying to readjust to the process of clamping each lock down. Then there is the fact that I have young men looking up to me. So that whole thought of, “What do you want to infuse in their minds as acceptable?” comes into play. Because one thing about parenting is that you never know how your actions will be received down the road (like when their grown and gone). So the whole clamping part comes into question, if in no else’s head but my own.  So from a solution standpoint do I have a conversation about it? Do I let it go as ‘normal’ and say nothing? Or do I embrace the culture of locking and keep an upbeat, undetectable calmness (though paranoid) about the whole thing and hope for the best? All while using my bravado as the shield that staves off those negative inferences. Either way clamping still remains as one of the least favorite parts of grooming my mane.

Natrodisac

Note: I am accustom to not giving much attention to any specific part of my body as it relates to beautification. That is the premise of my thinking and why I muddle over the process of maintaining healthy, thriving locks.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2013 in dreadlocks

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “It’s the One Thing I Don’t Like…

  1. VanishaRDailey

    September 2, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    lol you dont have to do it that way, thats just how people do it in order to keep them looking neat. you can always just wash and “pop” your roots so that your locs dont merge together

     
    • Natrodisiac

      September 2, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      Aha, clarity! However I don’t want to do a freeform style just yet. Its my guess that that’s the outcome from popping locs. So clamps are still she sh*t I don’t like but I guess they serve a purpose. Thanks though…:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
