RSS

Dale Earnhardt’s Evil Twin

16 Oct

My locks will embody my challenges, successes and failures. How do they connect? When I am challenged as I am now growing my hair up to this point has giving me answers to one of my most pressing and newest problem. Growing my afro has put patience at my disposal, in my hand of cards. It is primed and easy for me to use.

Last night my truck was rammed head by a sports utility vehicle (SUV). It was a Ford Expedition as best I can tell. I can’t explain it. All I know is that I can’t will life not to let it happen or things like this to happen to me because in that regard I am not special. Even so, that does not mean the stress of the moment missed me. It has hit me head on (no pun intended). When I walked out and the driver was pulling out of my grill I noticed he was getting ready to run! He did just that, he smashed into my parked truck and left the scene. I couldn’t find him, oh I wished I could. I raced through my neighborhood until I ran up on a sheriff. I knew then that the Dale Earnhardt of my coerced reality had gotten away.

The reality of it all settled in awkwardly. The debris from our vehicles was like trash in a land field in front of my house. My insurance would not cover the incident. And the repairs would cost what it would cost to buy a used car. This is a situation like no other. I want what I can’t have. I want this situation to go away. I want to have caught the assailant. I want my insurance to have more teeth. But because all I can ask for is only what I can have and that’s patience to give my mind the mental space to accept my reality. I will have to fix my truck outright.

My journey taught me (reminded me) to be patient. If I am patient I can find a solution. I can plan. There is nothing I could do when my hair was growing to a lockable length but to let it grow. There is nothing I can do about my truck but think it through and give myself time to come up with a solution. Having patience does make the anger go away but it give me a pathway and a way out of my challenges. I can appreciate the wisdom that comes from this journey. It gives me hope for a better day.

Natrodisiac

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2011 in Dreads, Locks, locs, natural hair

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Dale Earnhardt’s Evil Twin

  1. mane man

    October 16, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Sorry to hear about your truck man…what a jerk! Good luck taking care of it.

     
    • Natrodisiac

      October 16, 2011 at 6:57 pm

      Man you do not understand. But yeah like Eric B and Rakim ‘I am thinking of a master plan, ain’t got nothing but sweat inside my hand’!

       

Leave a Reply

 
