RSS

D- Day Comes on Wednesdays

09 Oct

This week is like Christmas for me. I am getting my first set of professional locks installed on Wednesday. Christmas for me as a child was full of anticipation. I got some really great gifts. I couldn’t sleep some nights during the holiday season. I am feeling similar to that during this (changing) season. I am doing something drastically different for my character. I have carried a clean cut image for years so moving into a more urban stylish look is going to be different. I am moving into a sacred space, a place of vulnerability and excitement. It is something about getting them done professionally that feels like a real step. When Naturaldisiac did my hair I was in a good place and great mood. The step was real but less formal. I guess that’s why I don’t understand why letting Veronica lock my hair makes me feel a little anxious. I have been there before. I guess what I feel is that feeling that you feel before the roller tips over the crest. Ultimately it is the excitement and the thrill of the ride that we live for. And for this season it is just that for me. I am ready for something different and looking forward to a change! Wednesday is picture day!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 9, 2011 in dreadlocks, Dreads, Locks, locs, natural hair

 

Leave a Reply

 
