RSS

A Book I Got…

25 Aug

When you borrow a book from the library typically you lose the desire to own it. Well that’s me. I have never borrowed a book and then bought it. I came across Dreads by Francesco Mastalia and Alfonse Pagano with the foreword written by Alice Walker and just had to have it in my collection of books. The book read into me more than just a book. It whispered. Other books that I have read have had subtle undertones but this one was different. There was an internal shifting in me that felt good, real good.

As the river flushed down the canal it passed me as I stood at the foot of the delta ,I daydreamed. My time there was as quiet as the clicks from my camera that captured a woman reading in the distance. The wind ruffled her pages and wrapped me like a blanket as I listened to the washing of the waves. The sun was in retreat for the time being, so the wind blew cool for once this summer. The invisible force of the book was like that, it moved me like the water over the Mississippi, effortlessly. The force was as powerful the tug boat that rowed by me without even a decibel of sound registering. We were all on one accord. We were all moving.

I would suggest the book to anyone. It is a diverse and beautiful book that is a great read and a wonderful find. It is a culturally affirming, socially on time and emotionally inspiring. I have enjoyed reading the book since the first day I had it. I have read some stories twice, even three times. It’s a book for our times. Enjoy.

Natrodisiac

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in dreadlocks

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “A Book I Got…

  1. Natural-disiac

    August 25, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Bravo! The second paragraph made me feel as if I was there with you. You definitely have a way with words. I am going to take a look at the book. One of my co-workers actually recommended the book to me as well. She is loc’d. I told her that you had the book and I would check it out. Again…great read!

     

Leave a Reply

 
