RSS

Is What’s Free Dumb?

22 Aug

Freedom? Is to be free dumb? Last week my journey led me to restrain from combing my hair. I was set and content in that decision, though I didn’t vet the lifestyle fully. I work in a professional capacity. A few heads were turning, no words spoken. I was free! My definition of freedom: to move into a state of contentment without regard of the consequences. I felt liberated. In the midst of my freeforming I realized something. I am not an island unto myself. There are those who depend on me. They need me soluble and non controversial. They need me to comb my hair with a tool. I was finger styling. My kinks would disagree. They needed more rotation. They needed more freedom. They wanted to co-mingle and love one another one strand at a time, I was at my wit’s end because I was ready to commit, ready to reinvent myself. What’s worse I was looking for some known fact, proof that not combing my hair would make my hair grow faster, I found no such proof. Nevertheless my commitment was truly enough but a documented fact would’ve been a sweet find. So I increased my no comb method to one a day. One FAT time when my hair is wet from my morning rinse.

It’s true that nothing in this world is free. It’s also true that my happiness hinges on that cusp. It is never a bad idea to move to the beat of your heart.  So even though I decided to lessen the looks a bit I haven’t deviated from my ultimate journey in any way. In case you need to read it, I will lock my hair in a few months. I am committed to experiencing a more concentrated version of ethnic pride and adornment. There is no better intimacy than the love of oneself, no greater freedom.

Natrodisiac

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2011 in Dreads, Locks, natural hair

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Is What’s Free Dumb?

  1. my6inchchallenge

    August 22, 2011 at 4:56 am

    Well, I see why you “jokingly” referred to me as bi-polar after reading my post, you seem a little conflicted yourself, my friend. 🙂 Have a great day!

     
    • Natrodisiac

      August 22, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Yes, I am a little conflicted. You should’ve known better how else would I have seen you. 🙂 lol. Thanks for coming through. Have a good day as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
