RSS

Hey Natro’ Jokes On You!

14 Aug

Pranks have been played on me. I have been the butt of a occassional joke. I have even made deliberate jokes about myself! But when it comes to my hair and it wooliness all jokes must seize! I looked in a mirror today and literally felt like I was looking at a scene from a suspense thriller when for one second your eyes deceive you and you believe that you see something that isn’t there.Well that mirror didn’t lie, I am struggling to find a happy place on this journey where my transition isn’t so trying, I just want a nice neat haircut to make the pain of looking at a forest of wildly growing hair to stop. The joke is on me or at least that is how it feels.

I was going to move my loc date today before I talked to loctician #4 because I wanted the comfort of time and a vacation to help my transition. However after talking to loctician #4 she requested two inches of hair before she can comfortably start the transition for me. 2 INCHES, what! Does she realize how long that would take or at least how that affects my timeline. I feel like I am giving something up even though I sensed I needed to rethink my date anyway. It’s one thing to know to do something because you want to, it’s another to have to do something because you were told to. I feel like something was taken away and the finish line was just an illusion. I cannot recall a time when I had 2 inches of hair. I am truly moving into unfamiliar territory and further out of my comfort zone,

Well now I am looking at November. [ sighing …November] That’s two additional months tacked on to my would be celebration month of late August/ early September. I am not exactly happy with my ‘fro. In my eyes it looks horrible. I feel self-conscious about it, but only because I am used to a neater, tighter, cleaner look. Managing this look (the insane asylum straight jacket look) is testing my patience/commitment as well as my mental toughness/ spiritual readiness. I am really challenged right now.

Natrodisiac

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2011 in dreadlocks, Dreads

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Hey Natro’ Jokes On You!

  1. JAH♥LICIA (@JAHLICIA)

    August 15, 2011 at 7:26 am

    I can relate to your frustration! Ugh! I wish I could help but I say rock some braides until November. It may not be your “look” but it is a neat alternative to the caveman look. Just a thought.

     
    • Natrodisiac

      August 15, 2011 at 10:27 am

      braids, just how far out of my comfort zone do you want me to be! lol! I am adding two new products to increase my growth. Tell me what you think, a leave in conditioner and dr. miracle’s gro oil! Both are moisture drive to give my scalp the nurturing that it needs.

       
  2. JAH♥LICIA (@JAHLICIA)

    August 16, 2011 at 5:12 am

    I think those products are cool. Remember, products can’t make your hair grow, just assist it in doing so. I was just suggesting braids as they will look neater than your caveman look you love so much 🙂

     
    • Natrodisiac

      August 16, 2011 at 10:01 am

      I couldn’t agree with you more. Products don’t make your hair grow without your genetic composition powering the way. If short or slow hair growth is in your gene pool as wild and wooly hair is in mine then there is nothing that’s going to change that but time. Hence I am in the uuggllyy phase! lol. Do you think braids and retail management are ok? Locks can be perceived as a cultural thing whereas braids are or could be considered more urban. Hmmm. Now I am thinking.

       

Leave a Reply

 
