RSS

3 Strikes…

12 Aug

Before I say anything about today and how things turned out I am still on schedule for what my original lock date was/is. For the record, I had planned this for late August or early September. SO why do I feel so let down?

We’ll keep the their names anonymous just in case I am so fortunate that one day they’ll read this blog! lol. I digress.

Loctician #1

We talked today. The rapport was good. He got me excited! He fed into my desire to be locked today, right now even. He didn’t ask or suggest for a consultation first. That was the first red flag. It was just a matter of syncing our times and getting it done. Oh and I was promised a phone call to set our times up. As a good faith attempt to keep our commitment as planned I called him at 1:00pm. He didn’t answer. Well there is a hair dresser on every corner so without further ado let me introduce you to loctician number 2.

Loctician #2

Her assistant was there. She greeted me at the door and told me loctician #2 would be right on. She asked me about how long was I growing my hair. I said,” …since May.” She gave me a side eyed look and then repeated what I said. When loctician #2 came in she went straight to my head. She mumbled words like no, uh uh, hmm, and can’t do it to herself! lol. I was let down but was trying to keep my candle lit. She then went into her second phase of the consultation. She asked, “Why was my hair so dry?” I said,” I washed it before I came.” She said,”Why?” and the questioning went downhill from there. I said, “I co-washed my hair.” She said,”What’s that.”  I said, “When you just use conditioner in your hair only.” She then asked,” Why did you do that?” I said,”.. my wife told me to.” She asked,”Is she white!” I said,”No, she goes to natural websites, youtube, places like that.” Then the assistant came in and started tag teaming me! The assistant said, “dat internet shit dunt know wud dey talkin’ ’bout.” I laughed inside. The only thing they said that made sense was that I should let my natural oils moisturize my hair. Other than that bright light I left confused, feeling awkward and wondering if my wife was white! I got one more trick in the bag, guess I will call loctician #3

Loctician #3

She came into her shop quietly. She saw me but walked to her chair and called for her client. Then after a few moments she asked who I was waiting for? I said her name and then she signal me to come to the other chair. I told her what I wanted. She answered all my questions while standing behind another customer though. She didn’t approach me or look at the texture in my hair or give me her full attention. She made her sale’s pitch 5 feet away. It’s no surprise that I left shortly thereafter. Ultimately I felt that she didn’t really want my business, my dollars.

What have I learned today boys and girls???

  • My hair isn’t long enough!
  • My wife may be white!
  • I am not important enough for you to give me your undivided attention!

Three strikes guys, they’re out! I am glad I got out there today though. I see what I don’t want in a stylist. Equally I see what I do want. I want some professionalism, some fun, and locks! I think that’s not too much to ask!

Natrodisiac

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2011 in dreadlocks, Dreads

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “3 Strikes…

  1. Naturaldisiac

    August 13, 2011 at 1:40 am

    Ok this is your white wife talking LOL— it’s ok babe you are going to find the right loctician for your hair. Ok now this is your black wife talking–do you want me to go down there and cuss them heffas out for making you feel unwelcomed today? LOL You originally planned for end of August first of September. It’s nothing wrong with being excited. It only means that you have made the right choice and that you are on the right journey. Be patient babe…when you get them you should rest assure that they are going to be right. Love ya boo (from your white/blk wife) LOL

     
  2. Natrodisiac

    August 13, 2011 at 2:04 am

    Black wife, white wife I get confused. The best way to handle them is to not go back. I guess t he journey has more sides than just locking. You have to find the right loctician. Well you know I have one more trick in the bag, this has to work! I ran through 3 in one day! lol.

    #taking it slow
    #Natrodisiac

     
  3. Naturaldisiac

    August 13, 2011 at 2:09 am

    The great thing is you figured it out early so now you still have time to fine the right one before the big day. You got this!

     
  4. Natrodisiac

    August 14, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Thanks, I think the big day is attainable. But we’ll see after I talk with loctician #4 tomorrow.

     
  5. JAH♥LICIA (@JAHLICIA)

    August 15, 2011 at 7:09 am

    I have got to say “aww this is crazy as hell! ” These are 3 examples as to why people go to youtube for help! This is bad business all around! What is so funny is that I started someone’s locs this past Saturday and he had less than 1 inch of hair so unless I am some miracle worker, it CAN be done! Ugh! A white wife?? WTF in Hell?? Ch..that could not have been me.

     
    • Natrodisiac

      August 15, 2011 at 10:20 am

      That day was crazy. Now that a few days have passed I can say I learned somethings.

      1. eveybody has a method that they believe in
      2. my wife really isn’t white!
      3. and if you were in my vicinity I would be stumbling through your doors right now to start my locs! lol!

      thanks for bloggin back. I increased your subscriber base by 1 also!

       
  6. JAH♥LICIA (@JAHLICIA)

    August 16, 2011 at 5:15 am

    hahahaha! Thanks for the the new subby! Numbers count! Welcome! Also, I love your style of writing, I can see your blog is real but also really funny! How you follow on this thang? O.O

     
    • Natrodisiac

      August 16, 2011 at 10:07 am

      Thanks I try I speak to the issue of the day, literally. The humor is a side product of my character. Sometimes I am a silly man. What I do to follow a blog is go up to the tool bar on wordpress and click it there. I wonder if your browser lets you see things as I do. I may get a different view because I am a member.Thanks for at least wanting to follow, that’s cool!

       

Leave a Reply

 
