RSS

Locking soon…

08 Aug

Well I have made it to August. I am here. A lot of guys have been telling me that I am at a good locking length. I was hearing the chatter as early as 3 weeks ago. So I am especially excited about being able to move to the next phase of this journey. I have been thinking a lot about people’s perception and my response to them. I think over all the worldly views is one that I am thinking of. I sometimes feel the pressure that I have to conform into what ‘you’ expect me to look like based on what ‘you’ are used to when it comes to me. That type of thinking has to stop. I have to be me the way that I see me and not allow other people opinions weigh in.

I guess stepping into the unknown makes me a little shifty. I want to be accepted for my differences but more importantly I want to be me. I want to be free in a sense and able to experience life on my terms. Changing my appearance and opening my mind to more things that are going on around me will give me the freedom that I covet. For some no depth of thought was required or a lapse in their decison to assume such a journey in the first place. Well for me, those issues do exist. I have a deeper reason for going down this path as well as lapses in why I deccided to pursue such an ethnic look. I am a thinker. I am a writer. When most people glaze over issues, and not have the patience to consider the facts I tend to have a more thoughtful perspective. Locking my hair is no different animal. I think deeply about it and feel i need to understand the spirit in me that yearns for this way of being. So ultimately locking my hair is a growth and transition of myself from one phase to another. A self induced paradigm shift of discovery and reinvention of ones self.

Natrodisiac.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2011 in dreadlocks, Dreads

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Locking soon…

  1. Naturaldisiac

    August 8, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Your progress has been amazing. Your mind and your hair has grown in ways when it comes to who you are that have made me say that you have really embraced who you really are and I love it. The last line really says it all for me. As I continue my natural journey I feel as if I have built a personal relationship with my hair. I have accepted who I really am and embracing me. I don’t need anything added to my hair to feel great or to look great. I am good! I know that you are going to love your locs and I can’t wait to watch you as you transition into the next part of your journey. I believe that this one is going to increase spiritually for you because you are definitely stepping outside of the “so called” norm. Love the journey…you never know you may encourage me to loc sooner than later.

     
    • Natrodisiac

      August 9, 2011 at 12:20 am

      The journey is taking a turn for sure. I am on the cusp of my transition and I am feeling great about it. I am finding more and more about myself in bits and piece as i stay the course. So to respond to your comment I am enjoying this part of my life, Thanks for your compliments and commenting on this blog!

       

Leave a Reply

 
