RSS

Caterpillar Butterfly

06 Jun
her bilingual tongue spoke anew
non singular inflection of
coupled words
that drifted down the canals
with an enrapturement of
sound
imploding to the celebration
of love’s reinvention of us

this is a verse from Caterpillar Butterfly by Terrence Wicks

When I wrote this piece Naturaldisiac was coming into the world of poetry. A world that I introduced her to as she took the poetry scene by storm with her honest and spirited pieces. I thought of her because in our journey we have often found common ground on the things we undertake. Saturday on 6/4/11 Naturaldisiac cut out 95% of her perm and let the braids go! In my journey I have groomed my hair to be prepped for locs but in order to get there I have to rock an afro! Here is where our journeys are come together. Now she is sporting a beautiful and attractive low hair cut and I am wearing a baby ‘fro. I think it is always cool when we can share a moment in time and in this case a moment in transition. We will both be in different places 3 months, 6 months even a year from now  with the direction of our hair growth, so it is nice to relish a special and rare moment in time like this.

Natrodisiac

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in Dreads

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Caterpillar Butterfly

  1. Naturaldisiac

    June 6, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    I love it! Thanks for embracing my journey as I have yours. I am excited and nervous at the same time because of where my hair journey is going to take me. Can’t wait to see you as you continue to grow on your journey. We are learning from each other. I love that about us!! Not scared to do what others wont. I love you and I love this blog!

     
    • Natrodisiac

      August 16, 2011 at 11:04 am

      Thanks for commenting and complimenting this blog. I love you too! Our journeys are definitely in full swing now. You rocking a red or auburn colored puff and I am just getting longer!

       

Leave a Reply

 
